

July 18, 2016 FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE – photo included CONTACT: Linda O'Horo, Public Relations Specialist Linda.O'Horo@memorialohio.com (937) 578.2203

Memorial Pharmacist Receives OSU Pharmacy Award

Marysville, Ohio – Memorial Hospital Clinical Pharmacist Frank Krivanek, Pharm D, MS was honored as a 2016 "Preceptor of the Year" during The Ohio State University College of Pharmacy's White Coat Ceremony today in Columbus. Five recipients selected from nominations from OSU pharmacy students will receive plaques at this event. "Preceptors of the Year" are recognized for their professionalism, spirit of cooperation with the College of Pharmacy, and their commitment to students as a professional mentor and teacher. Krivanek previously received this award in 1990.

"Anyone who knows Frank is quite aware of his high level of commitment and excellence when it comes to teaching and mentoring students," explained Britt Cummins, Memorial Hospital Director of Pharmacy. "He is a natural-born teacher and mentor who helps bring out the best in students, and he exemplifies the Memorial philosophy of combining professional expertise with a caring personality."

Frank Krivanek came to Memorial Hospital nine years ago, after working at Mount Carmel West as a pharmacist and clinical coordinator for its Pharmacy Residency Program. In addition to various other positions, he has spent significant time volunteering his skills to help others less fortunate. Frank is a member of the Disaster Medical Assistance Team for the Department of Health and Human Services, which is responsible for dispensing, procuring, and the security of medications used at federally declared disaster sites. He is also volunteer coordinator for pharmacists working at Faith Missions Clinic in Columbus.

Krivanek has received a number of awards for his work, including the Walter M. Frazier Hospital Pharmacy Award (1998) and the Merck Outstanding Achievement in the Profession of Pharmacy Award (2001) – both from the Ohio Society of Health (System Pharmacist). He received a Distinguished Alumni Award from The Ohio State University College of Pharmacy (2006), and was named Memorial Hospital Employee of the Year (2015).